Healthy Heart Award Pā-Harakeke

Pa Harakeke award banner

The top level, the gold standard, is Pā-Harakeke. This level sees you weave healthy eating and physical activity practices sustainably into all aspects of your environment as well as engaging your community. For the journey to gold, we will help you to:

Strand 1: Governance and Management Whakahaere

  • Develop or review nutrition and physical activity policies to include birthday, celebration, fundraising, professional development and resource funds, staff role modelling, nutrition and daily physical activity education, screen use and breastfeeding procedures or guidelines
  • Develop or review lunchbox guidelines to support your parents and whānau and ensure that they provide many every day and sometimes options and discourage occasional foods, provide support and ongoing education for your parents and whānau
  • Develop or review a cyclical menu, display it to parents, support your cook to undertake food safety training


Strand 2: Learning and Teaching Whakaako

  • Provide and record learning experiences on healthy eating and physical activity through your learning stories, also demonstrating staff collaboration, child’s voice and parent/whānau engagement


Strand 3: Collaboration Ngātahi

  • Let your parents and whānau know you are on your Healthy Heart Award journey
  • Promote healthy eating and physical activity through newsletters, Facebook pages, parent’s libraries, display boards, and parents evenings
  • Hold an event or develop a resource that engages the wider community


Strand 4: Professional Development Tupu Umanga

  • Gather nutrition and physical activity resources for your team to help increase their knowledge and boost their teaching practices
  • Develop or review your professional development plan to include healthy eating and physical activity
  • Put in place procedures around knowledge and information sharing
  • Attend professional development workshops on nutrition and physical activity and complete a self-review.

Need more information? View our Healthy Heart Award Criteria 



Not the right level for you? Check out the Rito or Whānau levels